Walk

For this post’s listening pleasure: http://blip.fm/~zw3st

I phased into the darkness of Nico’s kitchen, and surprised two slayers who happened to be standing on either side of the sink discussing the finer details of slayerdom. When they turned their shocked faces to me, I grinned.

“Hello boys.” They each took a dagger to the heart and dropped to the floor before either could radio for help. Not long thereafter, Trent appeared in the kitchen with Nico amidst the bodies as I cleaned my blades. He looked down at them, then back up to me and grimaced. I shrugged. “I surprised them.”

Yeah, that didn’t make him happy at all. He just shook his head and stepped over one of them.

“Go on, Nico,” he said. “Gather whatever you’ll need. You won’t be able to return, but you’ll need to make it light.”

I decided to step into that, since she was my girl. “I can come back for things if you need them.”

She looked from Trent to me, eyes a bit glazed over. “So, do I pack a case or just change? How much can you guys carry when you do that disappearing thing?”

“A backpack will be fine for now,” I replied. “Need help?”

She shook her head slowly, still in a bit of shock, I think. “No. No, I’m fine. I can do it.” Her eyes flicked to the bodies on the floor and then quickly back to me, widening a little in the split second they met my eyes. Great. My girl’s showing fear of me. This could be a bad thing.

I watched her walk out of the kitchen and down the hall. When my eyes fell on Trent, he stood glaring at me with his arms crossed over his chest. “What?”

He pointed to the bodies with a wave of his hand. “Did you have to kill them?”

I took a step forward, getting in his face, and pointed down at them. “These are the fuckers who killed Seth! What the fuck do you think?”

“Jesus, Shawn, she doesn’t need that shit right now,” he said. “Not after coming face to face with Cianán.” He spun around. “Where the fuck is Thalia?”

“How the fuck should I know? She’s your girl,” I snapped, but then went completely rigid. “Oh Jesus, Trent.” He scrambled for the front door, but I stopped him. “Not so fast, big brother. We don’t know what’s on the other side of that yet.”

He tried to get past me, but I was a goddamn rock. “Trent,” I whispered, just in case. “Just let me scout. You go check on Nico, since she seems to be afraid of me now.”

He stared at me, anger in his eyes. Fear. Then he blinked. “Shit, I wonder why,” he mumbled, but with full sarcasm.

“You know what? Fuck you,” I snapped, still whispering. He spun back in the midst of his turn, throwing his fist back and damn near hitting my face. I leaned back, but felt the wind as his hand passed. Then I locked my hand over his, twisted, and dropped him to his knees. The growl left my throat low and deep. “We don’t have time for this.”

“Fuck you,” he shouted.

Nico screamed a second after I heard the distinct sound of glass breaking. I picked Trent up by the throat and slammed him against the wall before running down the hallway. I pulled my knives again as I came up on her bedroom door, listening carefully to the sounds inside. Nico backed into my view. I had about three seconds before she saw me and gave away my position in her panicked state. One … a foot not belonging to Nico hit the floor as he took a step forward. Two … a click on a weapon, telling me exactly where he was. I jumped and flung a blade around the corner, hitting him in the center of his forehead. Nico screamed again. I was at her side with my hand over her mouth in two steps. “Shhh.” I looked down at her ever-widening eyes. “I’m going to remove my hand, and you’re not going to scream anymore. Right?” She nodded. “Good.” I did what I said and she remained quiet with exception to her elevated heart rate and rapid breathing. “Pack a bag quick.” I walked over to the man on the floor and pulled my blade from his head. I looked back at Nico and she just stood there staring at me. “Hurry, we need to find Thalia!”

Which brought my thoughts back to my twin. “Shit.” I ran down the hall to find the front door wide open and Trent fighting two slayers on the lawn. “Jesus. Fuck. Goddamn it.” I looked back down the hall. “Nico, fucking HURRY!” I couldn’t have her out of my sight for more than a second. Not with this many slayers around who obviously wanted her so bad. She bolted down the hall toward me, strapping the pack on her back, still wearing the fucking robe. Girl hadn’t even remembered to change … or thought better of it, considering the circumstances. I slipped an arm around her and vanished to the rooftop a couple of streets over. Once I set her down, I tipped her chin up. “I’ll be right back. Stay down low and don’t make a sound.” She nodded, and I stepped away and returned to Trent’s side in the midst of his fight.

I took out one slayer with a blade. Another with a gunshot. Trent was at my back. He hadn’t even turned when I appeared. Just knew I was there because he stopped covering his back immediately. We worked well together, flowing in a rhythm suited to twins who have both been trained to kill. As much of a geek as Trent was, the military had trained him to do the exact same thing I did for a living. He didn’t like it much, but he never forgot the moves. Training for us was like this. Testing, the same. They’d tested us together and separately. Of course, that shit was when we were human. Now, it was so much better with the vamp powers added to the mix.

Where is she? Have you seen her? I asked as I pulled a katana off my back and slit the approaching slayer’s throat. Several more appeared in his place.

No, but she’s around here, he said quickly in my head. I can feel her.

My eyes swept the area. Jesus, where are they all coming from? They’re like cockroaches.

I heard Trent’s katana open flesh. He’d always preferred the katana. I don’t know, but we need to find Thalia and get the fuck out of here. Nico safe?

She’s fine. On a rooftop several yards away. I cut across a slayer’s chest and grinned.

Trent’s voice drifted through my mind. You eat a heart in front of Nico and she’ll flip the fuck out, jackass.

Fuck. Asshole.

Hey, you’re the one who likes that shit, not me. I heard, and saw from the corner of my eye, a slayer lose his head as the katana blade sliced through flesh and bone. The entire time we fought, Trent attempted to scent Thalia out.

Haven’t fed from her in a while, have you? I asked through the link … where I discovered a block. A major one. What the fuck is that?

What’s what? And no, but I’m fixing that the moment I get her back. He spun sideways, kicked out his leg and connected with a slayer at one end while his blade impaled another on the opposite side. I knew this because I did the same thing at the same time. Must’ve looked like a goddamn ballet or something.

That fucking block in your head. What’re you hiding? Maybe there was more to what I’d picked up on earlier.

Shut the fuck up and fight.

Oh yeah, he was hiding something. We’ll discuss this later. “Fuck this.” I pulled my Kimber 1911 and started picking the slayers off quickly. They scattered like the roaches they were.

Trent slapped me on the back of the head. “What the fuck was that? What if they have Thalia in one of their vehicles?”

I holstered the gun. “Well, then you’re fucked because they’ve got some shit mixed in with the paint on their cars now and it fucking burns like a mother …”

“You are such a prick,” he said, punched me in the shoulder, and ran across the lawn. “Thalia!”

Yeah, he was right. I knew it. But I wouldn’t let them get away with his girl. The itch started in my chest and my sense of smell heightened. It was stronger than even my vamp sense of smell. My nostrils flared as I pulled in the surrounding scents. Jasmine hit my nose, but in oil form and not just the flowers on the vine across the street. Gotcha.

I took a step and vanished to her scent, and I came face to face with that mother fucker Roberts.

“Evening … Shawn, is it? Or am I speaking to Trent?”

“You’re a very stupid fucking man,” I said.

“Ah, Shawn. A pleasure to finally meet the legend.” He held a blade to Thalia’s throat.

“You do realize she’s a vamp, right?” I stared at him, watching his movements closely. Before long, Trent rounded the corner and was nearly at my side before I stopped him from passing me.

“I do, and this blade has a nice layer of Rhenium coated over it,” he said with a sadistic smile. Mother fucker.

Trent gasped as the metal burned Thalia’s skin. Then his body stiffened and his eyes turned to steel. “I’ll fucking kill you.”

“How about we make a deal?” Roberts said.

“Sure,” I replied. “Turn her over and we won’t kill any more of your men.”

“That’s not the deal I was looking for,” he said.

“Too bad,” Trent replied. “It’s the only one on the table.”

Roberts shook his head. “Sorry, that’s just not going to work for me. I want the witch back.”

“I don’t think so,” I growled and took a step forward. “I’d suggest you lower that blade and walk away now if you want to live.” Which won’t be long once the girls are safe.

“I could just have my men take her from the rooftop,” Roberts said. “It’s not like she can vanish the way you two do.” He grinned again. I wanted to kill him. I also wanted to go back to Nico to make sure she was okay.

Trent?

Fuck. Go. He knew I’d do the same for him.

I vanished without a single movement.

And Nico was right where I left her, safe and sound.

Then I heard Thalia scream.

About Shawn

Vampyre. The bad half. Yes, I bite. Wanna know more? Go read my fucking blog.

8 thoughts on “Walk

  1. Wulfie says:

    *Falls over dead*

    Holy crap. Fast and Furious and JEEBUS! You better not make me wait forever for what comes next. : |

    Would one of you please kill…or Turn…Roberts.

    And then give some combat training to the girls…cause they’re getting to be a pain in the ass. No offense girls but…man up! lol

  2. Trent says:

    Re: the girls … just wait. *grins*

    Thanks for reading, Wulfie! You’re like the only one who comments. *laughs*

  3. Wulfie says:

    I ain’t scared and I dig interactive. 🙂

  4. Trent says:

    Shawn and I are all about interactive. *laughs*

  5. Shawn says:

    Hells to the mutha fuckin’ yeah, we are!

  6. Wulfie says:

    *raises eyebrows @Jinxie* What? What they say?

Leave a Reply

