Death of Me

I ported away from Grant and Kylie’s house and back to my own. I had to find a decent place to hide the journal Kylie gave me before I could head out to search for Trystan. And it had to be a good spot so Shawn or anyone else wouldn’t find it. I really hated keeping a secret from my twin, and honestly, I’d be surprised if it kept, considering the link we shared.

Just as I reached up to pull the vent off the ceiling, Thalia walked in.

“What’cha doing, baby?” Her soft, sultry voice tickled my eardrums and I froze.

“Uh, checking this vent. There’s not enough air blowing out.” I tried not to cringe with the only lie I’d ever told her.

She raised a brow at me. Vampyres, unlike werewolves, can’t smell a lie a freakin’ mile away, but Thalia sure as hell can. Damn.

I hopped off the chair and ran a hand down her bare arm, gliding along the pale flesh that belonged to only me. “Okay, that’s not true, but I can’t tell you the real reason.” Which I know was a really stupid thing to say.

Those ruby red lips fell into a pout I couldn’t ignore and I sighed at the pleading in her eyes. “Anything to do with this?” she asked as her hand slipped around my waist and under my shirt. She moved in such a way, it had my body shuddering, as she stepped closer to me. Her sweet breath floated across my neck, and I was helpless.

I looked down at the journal she held between our close bodies and nodded slowly, then cleared my throat. “Uh, yeah. It’s Kylie’s. I can’t let Cianán or Shawn find it, I guess.”

Her head tilted a bit to the left and her hair brushed her shoulder. “Why not?”

“Seth says it’s a key or something.” My eyes pleaded with her to stop with the topic because the more I talked about it, the less likely I’d be able to keep it from Shawn.

Her eyes widened and she gasped. “He left you clues in that last game, didn’t he?”

I just nodded, and wrapped my fingers around the book’s leather. “Yeah, he did, and we need to hide it. Besides, I need to get going on that search for Trystan.”

Thalia’s beautiful smile stretched across her lips. “Can I help?”

“Really? Uh, yeah, I guess so,” I replied in shock. “There shouldn’t be any danger.”

She frowned. “Trent, I know you feel the need to protect me, but I’m a vampyre now. I can take care of myself.”

I drew in a deep breath. This had been a touchy subject for the past week or so, and since she’d been killed and was turned. Scared the hell out of me when it happened. I’d thought I’d lost her at one point, but Kylie helped save her.

She pulled the book back. “Let me hide it for you. Shawn will know where you’ve put it and it’s going to be hard enough for you to keep from him that you have it in the first place.”

And this is why I fucking love this woman.

“Yeah, good idea.” I let the leather slip from my fingers. “But make sure it’s a real good spot. He’s an accidental mother fucker.”

She frowned and tilted her head.

“Meaning he’ll accidentally find it, so don’t hide it in this house.”

“Gotcha.” She turned on her heel and left the room as I scooted the chair back into place.

Nervousness crept through me. It’s not that I didn’t trust Thalia. I do down to the marrow in my bones. I just don’t trust too many aside from her and Shawn, and now I have to hide something from him, my twin. “I’d really like to know what’s in that book.”

I paced for a bit before she returned, and then we left for Ireland in search of Trystan. I wasn’t really looking forward to seeing Cianán, though. Not. At. All.

It might just be the death of me.

About Trent

Vampyre. All around good guy, I think. Trying to keep my brother Shawn from going completely over to the Dark Side. Yes, I'm a geek. LOL

4 thoughts on “Death of Me

  1. cher says:

    Honey, you is ‘whipped’. lol I love it.

    Now let’s just hope she’s not stupid or accidentally stupid in where she hid it.

    Good luck on your search. Don’t keep us waiting so long between posts…or you might wake up minus a head. 😛

  2. Trent says:

    Hey now! No need to threaten with decapitation! Sheesh. 😉

    Thalia’s a very smart girl or I wouldn’t be with her. It’s part of the attraction. So yeah, I’m totally whipped, and I don’t give a fuck when I get to wake up next to her every goddamn day.

  3. cher says:

    Ah man, just kidding. I wouldn’t really decapitate you. Thalia would kick my ass for one thing. Then Shawn would…well…be Shawn-full-metal-jacket. But all that aside, I love ya, dude. Just harassing ya. I get worried when things stall.

    You really love her, huh? You must tell your writer-insano-person to build that up more. Cuz we know the attraction’s there, would be nice to learn more about the other aspects of it other than “OhTrent!FuckmeTrent!” Just saying. hahaha

    And I love that only on this blog, do I get to express this part of my personality. Thanks!

    Hugs…even nippy ones.

  4. Trent says:

    Yeah, we were just talking about the “love” aspect between me and Thalia, even Shawn and Nico. We’re gonna work on it. 🙂

    My writer-insano-person is slowly getting her head back on her shoulders and starting to work again, so we’ll see what happens. Shawn should probably post next Monday…unless they both feel I need to catch up. lol

Leave a Reply

