Pushit

[tweetmeme=”Trent_II” source=”tinyurl.com”]

As soon as Shawn ported over to Ireland, I left for the MacNessa household to speak with them regarding Seth and the Cabale. They wouldn’t be exactly thrilled to see me, but better me than my twin, whom Grant wanted to rip to shreds much like I did Rayven not so long ago. It’s only because Shawn was the one to bring Cianán back. I suppose Kylie being in danger could have had something to do with it, but if you ask me, that woman can take care of herself most of the time when it comes to Cianán. I’d like to say Cianán would never let anything happen to her and that she’s too important to him, partly because of what Seth mentioned in the note on the game. Cianán thought Kylie was his key to god-like immortality, as if vampyre immortality wasn’t good enough. He wanted control over, not just humans and the earth. The truth is, though, that Cianán plunged a sword through Kylie’s heart after the first sacrifice when she was still only human. It nearly killed her and we discovered later that she’d ingested one small drop of Grant’s blood the week prior, thereby going through the slowest transformation I’d ever witnessed, and it was the vampyre side of her that fought to live until Mahlon could fully transform her to Dasul. We’ve all been trying to figure out why Kylie agreed to help Cianán the second time. I’ve heard it had to do with Shawn and me, but I can’t be sure. Out of courtesy, I materialized on the doorstep, the bright Arizona sun on my back warming me, and rang the bell. A moment later, it swung open to reveal a tall woman with emerald eyes and long auburn hair. “Trent!” She bounced forward and her long arms wrapped around my shoulders.

“Hi Kylie,” I said, returning the hug and surprised by her reaction. I’ll admit I’d had a huge crush on her for about a year, until Thalia became my mate. The woman is just fucking beautiful in so many ways—body and soul. Not sure how else to explain that.

“I assume you’re here about Seth?” Her head tilted to the side and I had to question why she wasn’t chastising me for the whole Cianán incident a few weeks back. She frowned suddenly and ran a hand down my arm. “It’s okay, Trent. I understand his influence on you.” I looked at the ground until she raised my chin. “Stop feeling as though it’s entirely your fault. It’s not.”

I cracked a smile. Yep, this was one of the reasons I’d crushed hard. “Thanks.” I peered past her and inside. “Is Grant around?”

“Yes, he is,” she answered and took my hand. “Come in so we can discuss the recent events.”

I let her lead me inside. Grant stepped out of the kitchen wearing an apron (I won’t say what color it was because he’d fucking kill me), his long black hair pulled back in a ponytail. I blinked. I think he’d grown since the last time I’d seen him. Was that possible?

His eyes narrowed for a second before he realized I wasn’t my twin. “Trent.” He nodded briefly and pulled the apron off, tossing it over a chair in the breakfast nook. “What are you doing here?”

“Seeing what’s being done about Seth’s death,” I replied.

Kylie stepped around me and stood next to her husband. “We’re looking into it to see if we can find the location. We know who it was, just not where.”

I nodded and stared at their feet. “I kinda figured you’d do that. Cool.”

Kylie stepped forward and touched my arm. “Trent, are you okay?”

When I looked up, the flecks of gold in her green eyes sparkled. “Yeah, I’m cool. Just a little shaken by this shit, y’know?”

Her hand squeezed my forearm before she let it drop away and stepped back. “I know you two were close, Trent. I’m so very sorry.”

I just nodded my head a few times and looked around their place. It’s damn nice, I had to admit. Spanish adobe-style inside and out. Kylie had interesting tastes too. She tended to mix her and Grant’s Celtic heritage with the Spanish shit.

Just as I started to open my mouth and ask about the journal Seth told us about, Shawn appeared next to me. It all happened in a blur after that.

Grant’s eyes flashed with anger the second Shawn materialized, and he roared as he lunged for my twin, picking him up by the neck and slamming him against the wall. “Where. Is. He?” Grant growled.

“Grant, stop it,” Kylie said. She slid a hand over Grant’s shoulder and stepped around him. “Put him down.”

“Hey, Kylie,” my idiot twin brother choked out. Grant let him go and he dropped to the floor, ending in a crouch before he stood up and rubbed his neck. If he was smart, he’d keep his trap shut.

Kylie smiled at him. Grant growled again for some reason, and if Kylie hadn’t stepped between them, I had a feeling my twin would have been against the wall once more with those large strong fingers around his throat. My guess was that Shawn had particular thoughts about Grant’s wife, which we’ve shared on occasion. The thoughts, that was. Neither of us would ever have Kylie.

“Look, I just came to talk to Trent,” Shawn said and rubbed his neck again. “I don’t want to cause any trouble or get into it with you.”

Kylie stepped forward and ran her delicate fingers down the side of his face. “Something’s different about you, Shawn. What have you been up to?” The woman had uncanny abilities now that she was Dasul. It made me wonder what she was picking up on with Shawn.

“Huh? Nothing,” he replied and shook his head.

She giggled as her smile spread wide. “Right, okay.”

I stood to the side, knowing better than to interfere, but that didn’t mean I couldn’t comment. “That was a stupid move.”

Shawn shrugged. “If it wasn’t important, I wouldn’t have shown up.”

Grant snorted. “What the hell do you want? It’s not enough you brought that bastard back?”

Shawn cocked a brow at him. “Excuse me, but I think yourwife helped with that one by bringing him back to flesh first.” I just shook my head at Shawn’s stupidity.

Grant growled again and tried to push past Kylie, but she wouldn’t let him by. She was probably the only one who could stop him. “Grant, he’s right, I gave Cianán life again. He only gave him unlife.”

“He’s more powerful when he’s undead,” Grant snapped and pointed at Shawn. “And he fucking knew that.”

Shawn’s arms snapped out to the sides in a dramatic Jesus Christ pose. “So, what do you want from me, Grant? Huh? My head? Fucking take it. I’m sick of this shit.” I rolled my eyes. He was always such a fucking rock star. He bowed his head in a manner for Grant to decapitate him. Grant didn’t travel far without his sword anymore.

Kylie slapped the back of Shawn’s head as he looked at the floor, and I stifled my laughter. “Stop being so dramatic.”

Grant didn’t contain his chuckle. “Alright Shawn, talk to your twin.” He pulled Kylie away from us and they wandered off to their kitchen.

Shawn raised his head and looked around their house, and he whistled long and slow. “Damn nice place they have here.”

I sighed and shook my head. “What was so important?”

Shawn walked to me and leaned over, keeping his voice as quiet as possible. “We have to find Trystan.”

Oh, right, he’d gone to see Cianán. My head turned as I looked at him, my blue eye meeting his green directly. “You can’t be serious. How in the hell are we supposed to do that?”

Shawn shrugged and we discussed Trystan’s mortal state for a bit before we decided on the starting location in our search for the woman who used to be a sorceress.

Shawn then slapped a hand against his forehead. “Fuck.”

“What’s wrong?”

He growled low. “Nico. I’m supposed to go see her tonight.”

“You just saw her,” I said.

“Yeah, but I need to go back,” Shawn replied. “Go see if you can find any others to help. I think they’re in Italy. Watch out for Dana.”

“Hell, I saw that,” I said. “Stupid Gino.”

“He never was that bright,” Shawn replied. “I’ll meet you at the circle. Oh, and see if Grant or Kylie knows anything about that journal.”

I nodded and Shawn vanished. Kylie came out of the kitchen and walked down the hall before I heard Grant’s voice. “You want something to drink, Trent?”

“Nah, I’m good,” I replied and walked over to the table in the breakfast nook.

“Looking for Trystan, huh?” Grant said, and when I looked up at him, his right brow arched.

I nodded and looked away quickly. “Yeah, I guess.”

“She’ll be difficult to find.” Grant stood in front of the stove and stirred a pot. Whatever he was cooking smelled delicious.

My brow creased. “Why’s that?”

“Not all of her magic is gone,” Grant said. He brought the spoon up for a taste, blew on the red sauce, and then took the sample into his mouth.

“But I thought you—”

He shook his head before I could get half the sentence out. “Not all of it, no. I’m not that powerful. Only Azbogah has that ability.” The spoon lowered back to the pot and submerged within the sea of red. “There are still remnants of her powers available to her, if she discovers them. They’re hidden deep within her now.”

I stood slack-jawed as Kylie came around the corner. She held something familiar in her hands.

“Were you going to ask about this?” She held the object up. The name Siobhán Brigit O’Ruairc graced its worn leather cover. My jaw dropped open again.

“How’d you know that?” I pointed at the journal. “Where’d you get that anyway?”

“She’s my ancestor,” Kylie replied. “And Grant’s first love.”

Grant grumbled near the stove. I guess he didn’t like being reminded of her. With what Shawn told me, I could see why.

“Yeah, I was going to ask about it,” I said and stepped closer. “Is there any way I can take a look at it?”

“Why?” she asked and pulled it back. “There’s obviously a reason. Does it involve … him?” Kylie never said Cianán’s name anymore. In truth, she didn’t even care to mention him at all.

“Not in the way you might think,” I answered honestly. “I swear it to you.”

She stared at me for a bit. I felt her mental fingers probing my mind for the information, so I just let her find it because it’d be less painful for me. Shawn didn’t realize Grant and Kylie could read our minds regardless of how hard we blocked everyone out.

Grant spoke up. “Trent, has your brother developed the shifting ability recently?”

That startled me out of the trance Kylie had nearly put me in. Damn Dasul liked to thrall you now and then, and you didn’t have to be only human for it to happen. “What shifting ability?”

Kylie’s brow arched. “You don’t know?” She turned to Grant. “How can he not know?”

Grant shrugged. “Apparently Shawn’s keeping secrets from his twin.”

“What secrets?” I asked.

Kylie stood in front of me, seeming to contemplate her words before speaking. “What’s happened recently with him, Trent? Anything in particular that would cause a change in him?”

I shook my head, but stopped suddenly, recalling his skirmish with the skinwalker. “Oh shit.” My wide eyes met Kylie’s. “Did he take on that fucker’s power?”

She shrugged. “I sense something different in him, so it’s possible.” Her head tilted back to Grant. “He senses an animal.”

When I looked at Grant, he nodded. I blinked rapidly. Shit. I needed to talk to Nico, since she treated him after that whole mess. “Is it bad?”

“I don’t know yet,” Kylie replied, and I could see the uncertainty in her eyes. She wasn’t lying to me. She never had. She held the journal out to me. “Whatever it is, protect it from him. Keep it hidden. I trust you, Trent, but don’t let it near your brother, either. I mean it.”

My shaking hand took the journal and I stared at its ancient leather cover, my fingers tracing over the name.

“Why can’t you keep it, babe?” Grant said as he stepped up behind her, a worried look spreading across his face, aging his immortal features.

“It’s not for me to protect,” she replied and took his hand in hers. Then she gazed into my eyes. “Trent is its keeper. It’s been waiting for him.”

My eyelids fluttered. Shit.

About Trent

Vampyre. All around good guy, I think. Trying to keep my brother Shawn from going completely over to the Dark Side. Yes, I'm a geek. LOL

4 thoughts on “Pushit

  1. Wulfie says:

    Man, this is twisty, turny! My brain hurts! Good stuff, girlie! Keep it coming.

  2. Shawn_II says:

    Wait, what? They can read minds? When the fuck did that happen?

  3. Trent_II says:

    Shawn – yes, Kylie and Grant can read even our thoughts.Wulfie – who you callin' a girl? lol

  4. christel42 says:

    Ooohhh….this is gonna get spicy! Alittle sibling rivalry going on?

Leave a Reply

